THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE
THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE
THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE
THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE
THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE
THAMES AND HUDSON

THE EXPERIENCE OF ARCHITECTURE

Šifra artikla: 333399
Isbn: 9780500343210
Autor : Henry Plummer
How does the experience of turning a door handle, opening a door from one space to lead into another, affect us? It is no wonder that the door, one of the most elemental architectural forms, has such metaphorical richness. But even on a purely physical human level, the cold touch of a brass handle or the swish of a sliding screen gives rise to an emotional reaction, sometimes modest, occasionally profound.
This book aims to understand how these everyday acts in space are influenced by architectural form, a concept that is vital for all architects to grasp if our buildings are to be anything more than a commercial or aesthetic enterprise. It considers how specific built elements and volumes, taken from a wide array of buildings and settings around the world, can sustain or deny our powers of decision. From the hand-carved stairs in Greek villages to free-floating catwalks, from the elegant processional steps of Renaissance Italy to Frank Lloyd Wright’s masterly manipulation of form, from the seemingly random placement of Japanese stepping stones to the staircase in Chareau’s Glass House, all provide very difference experiences of stepping from one level to the next, and all affect our experience of that space.
0,00 RSD
2.530,00 RSD
2.024,00 RSD
Ušteda: 506,00 RSD
Obavesti me o sniženju
  • NSZ
0+ komada na lageru
Količina: 1 Kom
2
1
Sačuvajte u listi želja
Pomoć
How does the experience of turning a door handle, opening a door from one space to lead into another, affect us? It is no wonder that the door, one of the most elemental architectural forms, has such metaphorical richness. But even on a purely physical human level, the cold touch of a brass handle or the swish of a sliding screen gives rise to an emotional reaction, sometimes modest, occasionally profound.
This book aims to understand how these everyday acts in space are influenced by architectural form, a concept that is vital for all architects to grasp if our buildings are to be anything more than a commercial or aesthetic enterprise. It considers how specific built elements and volumes, taken from a wide array of buildings and settings around the world, can sustain or deny our powers of decision. From the hand-carved stairs in Greek villages to free-floating catwalks, from the elegant processional steps of Renaissance Italy to Frank Lloyd Wright’s masterly manipulation of form, from the seemingly random placement of Japanese stepping stones to the staircase in Chareau’s Glass House, all provide very difference experiences of stepping from one level to the next, and all affect our experience of that space.

Ostavi komentar

Karakteristika Vrednost
Kategorija ARCHITECTURE
Autor Henry Plummer
Izdavač THAMES AND HUDSON
Pismo Latinica
Povez Tvrd
Godina2017
Format20x26
Strana288

Slični proizvodi

This Bibliotheca Universalis edition of Cabins combines insightful text, rich photography,...
1.936,00 RSD
2.420,00 RSD
Concrete? That characterless stuff of parking lots or Communist tower blocks, right? Well,...
1.936,00 RSD
2.420,00 RSD
Elected the architectural book of the year by the International Artbook and Film Festiv...
1.936,00 RSD
2.420,00 RSD
Discover the completely unique aesthetic of Tadao Ando, the only architect ever to have wo...
5.588,00 RSD
6.985,00 RSD
Turn the Louvre pyramid into a greenhouse! Design your own folly or maze! Green up a ca...
1.874,40 RSD
2.343,00 RSD
The book analyzes the design and production of museum complexes all over the world in the ...
1.999,00 RSD
4.310,37 RSD
Learn how to make your own solar-powered appliances and additions to your home with the st...
999,00 RSD
2.475,00 RSD
Fans of Archidoodle and Archidoodle City can now send their best doodles through the post!...
968,00 RSD
1.210,00 RSD
Making Marks follows up the highly successful Architects’ Sketchbooks, which presented,...
3.889,60 RSD
4.862,00 RSD
This celebration of 20 of China’s latest generation features detailed profiles of each ...
3.889,60 RSD
4.862,00 RSD
This essential publication reintroduces the importance of learning to ‘see by hand’, to...
3.238,40 RSD
4.048,00 RSD
This book provides analysis of both the technical and the aesthetic importance of details ...
2.552,00 RSD
3.190,00 RSD
Pomoć