SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE
SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE
SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE
SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE
SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE
THAMES AND HUDSON

SPOMENIK MONUMENT DATABASE

Šifra artikla: 329427
Isbn: 9780995745537
Autor : Donald Niebyl
Spomenik’ the Serbo-Croat/Slovenian word for ‘monument’ – refers to a series of memorials built in Tito’s Republic of Yugoslavia from the 1960s-1990s, marking the horror of the occupation and the defeat of Axis forces during World War II. Hundreds were built across the country, from coastal resorts to remote mountains. Through these imaginative forms of concrete and steel, a classless, forward–looking, socialist society, free of ethnic tensions, was envisaged.

Instead of looking to the ideologically aligned Soviet Union for artistic inspiration, Tito turned to the west and works of abstract expressionism and minimalism. As a result, Yugoslavia was able to develop its own distinct identity through these brutal monuments, which were used as political tools to articulate Tito’s personal vision of a new tomorrow. Today, following the breakup of the country and the subsequent Yugoslav Wars of the 1990s, some have been destroyed or abandoned. Many have suffered the consequences of ethnic tensions – once viewed as symbols of hope they are now the focus of resentment and anger.

This book brings together the largest collection of spomeniks published to date. Each has been extensively photographed and researched by the author, to make this book the most comprehensive survey of this obscure and fascinating architectural phenomenon.
  • NSZ
0+ komada na lageru
Sačuvajte u listi želja
Pomoć
Spomenik’ the Serbo-Croat/Slovenian word for ‘monument’ – refers to a series of memorials built in Tito’s Republic of Yugoslavia from the 1960s-1990s, marking the horror of the occupation and the defeat of Axis forces during World War II. Hundreds were built across the country, from coastal resorts to remote mountains. Through these imaginative forms of concrete and steel, a classless, forward–looking, socialist society, free of ethnic tensions, was envisaged.

Instead of looking to the ideologically aligned Soviet Union for artistic inspiration, Tito turned to the west and works of abstract expressionism and minimalism. As a result, Yugoslavia was able to develop its own distinct identity through these brutal monuments, which were used as political tools to articulate Tito’s personal vision of a new tomorrow. Today, following the breakup of the country and the subsequent Yugoslav Wars of the 1990s, some have been destroyed or abandoned. Many have suffered the consequences of ethnic tensions – once viewed as symbols of hope they are now the focus of resentment and anger.

This book brings together the largest collection of spomeniks published to date. Each has been extensively photographed and researched by the author, to make this book the most comprehensive survey of this obscure and fascinating architectural phenomenon.

Ostavi komentar

Karakteristika Vrednost
Kategorija ARCHITECTURE
Autor Donald Niebyl
Izdavač THAMES AND HUDSON
Pismo Latinica
Povez Tvrd
Godina2018
Format16x20
Strana208

Slični proizvodi

Turn the Louvre pyramid into a greenhouse! Design your own folly or maze! Green up a ca...
1.874,40 RSD
2.343,00 RSD
The book analyzes the design and production of museum complexes all over the world in the ...
1.999,00 RSD
4.310,37 RSD
Learn how to make your own solar-powered appliances and additions to your home with the st...
999,00 RSD
2.475,00 RSD
Fans of Archidoodle and Archidoodle City can now send their best doodles through the post!...
968,00 RSD
1.210,00 RSD
How does the experience of turning a door handle, opening a door from one space to lead...
2.024,00 RSD
2.530,00 RSD
Making Marks follows up the highly successful Architects’ Sketchbooks, which presented,...
3.889,60 RSD
4.862,00 RSD
This celebration of 20 of China’s latest generation features detailed profiles of each ...
3.889,60 RSD
4.862,00 RSD
This essential publication reintroduces the importance of learning to ‘see by hand’, to...
3.238,40 RSD
4.048,00 RSD
This book provides analysis of both the technical and the aesthetic importance of details ...
2.552,00 RSD
3.190,00 RSD
This is the first survey in many years to explore contemporary apartments not as raw ca...
5.016,00 RSD
6.270,00 RSD
The buildings burned in our memories, which to us represent the spirit of '50s and '60s ar...
1.936,00 RSD
2.420,00 RSD
The Iconic House features over 100 of the most important and influential houses designe...
3.053,60 RSD
3.817,00 RSD
Pomoć